A few new things…

I have done some sewing this week, but I haven’t had much chance to blog about it.   The biggest news of the week is that I’m working on overcoming my fear of zippers.  Now, I consider myself a pretty confident seamstress, there’s not too much that I’m afraid to try (although it may end up in the trash when I decide I’m done trying it) but zippers have been one of those things for me.  This week, I made a little zipper pouch.  And it turned out good!  I’m so proud of me.

 Here it is!


I did this little Fall inspired tree embroidery freehand.


And there’s the zipper! 


And on the inside, I used this little brown dot fabric.  I actually finished the edges by the zipper nicely on the inside, but the side seams are just turned to the inside and serged.  I’m only explaining, because I feel a little guilty about not doing a proper lining, but hey…who’s gonna know?

I used the little wristlet today when I went to church and to do some shopping.  It’s great to not have to haul around a large purse in addition to the three children I always seem to have in tow.  It fit some cash, my debit card and driver’s license, my cell phone and my car keys; pretty much all the necessities.

And, the other project this week was a second pair of Gauchos to match Gymboree’s Harvest Leaves line.  Here they are:

These Fall colors and soft corduroys were dreamy to work with.  The weather here is finally cooling down so it feels like Fall now.  And I love the way the waistband went in on these, it’s rib knit with encased elastic, so it’s super comfy to wear!  And the orange topstitching, and the applique….well, I’m just happy with how these turned out.

5 Responses to “A few new things…”


  1. 1 Stephanie September 24, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Cute! Love the embrodiery! I still fear the zipper in most projects!

  2. 2 sarahmasciana September 26, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Love the Gauchos! Nice work!

  3. 3 Anna October 1, 2007 at 3:54 am

    Gosh, that’s wonderful! I’m pledged on the wardrobe refurnish at the moment and didn’t know what to make out of jeans (I’ve already made bags, oven gloves and shorts). Do you mind if I copy this? I’ll make sure you get credit. xxAnnaxx

  4. 4 lovestitches October 6, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Congrats on fighting the zipper fear! I will…soon. I love the embroidery!!

  5. 5 Robin November 9, 2007 at 11:28 am

    I love those gauchos! Did you use a pattern for them? And the applique/embroidery are beautiful (a perfect match for the Gymboree top!).


Leave a Reply

