Time for a break…

Here’s my morning’s sewing so far.  When I got these three wallets finished, I decided it was time for a coffee break.  And after my coffee break, I need to run out to the fabric store for more supplies.  Somehow, seeing the three wallets lined up together makes me want to make more, like these guys are lonely without some friends.  So today’s exercise will be more assembly-line sewing of wallets, until I get tired of it. 

As I was sewing, I decided this is the perfect wallet for a new mom.  When you’re in that “I carry a diaper bag instead of a purse” phase, it’s great to have something pretty just for yourself, to drop into the diaper bag on your way out the door.  Each one is like a little quilted work of art, something to give you a smile every time you pay for your groceries.

4 Responses to “Time for a break…”


  1. 1 Gwen December 4, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have made 10 wallets since getting your post on sewmamasew.com several weeks ago. Your instructions on the tutorial were very easy to follow. After making all these as gifts for teachers, friends, family for Christmas I hope to make one for myself. All the credit going to you for your wonderful tuturial. Thank you so much for sharing! They all turned out better than I could have imagined!
    Gwen – Colorado Springs, Colorado

  2. 2 Beth December 4, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Thank you for your tutorial on the wallet! I’ve made one so far, and loved how easy it was!

    One question-how do you get it all so straight?????? 🙂

  3. 3 alittlemoore December 6, 2007 at 8:46 am

    Great job, Katie! I love my katie-made wallet 🙂 I haven’t tried the tutorial yet but it is on my list of things to do!

  4. 4 Janey December 8, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    I just found your blog and it’s great. It looks like you’re a fellow “baglady” like myself. I think I may need to try making one of these wallets once some more Christmas gifts are done. Come check me out at sewstylish.wordpress.com Happy Sewing


Leave a Reply

