Gizmos and Gadgets Galore

Along with the Singer 500A I just bought came a whole box of delicious attachments.  So, when the little man lay down to take a nap today, I took out the sewing machine manual and some scraps of fabric to see what they all do.

One of the features of this machine that intrigued me is the ability to double needle with two single needles, so that was the first feature I tried out.  I threaded up with two spools of thread and practiced straight stitches, zig-zags and patterned stitches.  I even tried out one of the special top-hat cam stitches here.  I think I’m going to like double needle hems on knits!  And they will make beautiful topstitching when I’m sewing garments.

The next attachment I practiced was the ruffler, and I think there are going to be way more ruffles in my future.  I’ve been making ruffles using a long stitch length setting and then pulling the thread to gather while pinning it evenly around the garment, and finally stitching it on.  This attachment makes beautifully even gathers and pleats so easily! 

I did a little practice with the narrow hem foot, but need to practice that a bit more to get the fabric to feed consistently, as some parts of the hem I made had only one fold in them rather than the two that are supposed to be there.

The last attachment I tried out was the multi-slotted binder.  I was a bit skeptical when I cut my 15/16″ strip that it would bind evenly so narrow, but sure enough, after feeding it through the scroll and fitting my fabric in the middle, I came out with a perfectly bound edge.

I’m still working up the courage to try an actual sewing project on this machine, but when I do, I’m sure you will be the first to see what I make!

3 Responses to “Gizmos and Gadgets Galore”


  1. 1 Krista January 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    That is so neat! I still have to get up the courage to try my ruffler I got for my birthday present last month 🙂
    Sounds like you had fun!
    ~Krista

  2. 2 Christy February 3, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    I should follow suit and do some practicing of my own. Two weeks ago I bought my first sewing machine. It’s a Brother and so far it has been easy to use, but I have never sewn before. I have made one awful looking apron, two pillows for my son and a tote bag for my god daughter, all of which are frayed and show some ugly edges. But I’m trying. I should practice things with the machine as you did. That might help.

  3. 3 Rachel June 4, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I also have the 500A model, which belonged to my grandmother then my mom got it, now my mom has gave it to me when I got married and moved out of the house but she has not idea where she has put the box with the instructions and all the attachments
    but have made many things with just a straight stitch


Leave a Reply

