Hearts, Hearts, Everywhere!

You guessed it!  We’re preparing for Valentines Day by making thirty hand-made Valentine’s Day cards to pass out to a certain someone’s second grade classmates.  The journey started with a trip to the craft store, and after mommy made a detour to the fabric department, we headed for the scrapbook aisles.  I am not a scrapbooker, but handmade cards seemed to require some of the same tools as scrapbooks, so we meandered up and down the paper craft aisles seeking inspiration.  Thirty minutes and forty dollars later, we left with a bag containing six fat quarters of fabric, a heart shaped punch, a pack of fifty blank cards and envelopes, two ink pads (red and pink) and a sheet of adhesive-backed foam.

Today, the adhesive backed foam (along with two wooden building blocks stolen from the kids’ collection) became stamps.  I was so pleased with how these came out!  I think the $.79 foam was worth it.  Here they are:

For those of you who have not yet begun your Valentines cards, the stamps were easy and fun to make (not to mention cheap!)  I just cut various heart shapes out of the self-adhesive foam, and stuck them onto the blocks:  voila!  Ready for printing!  I did find that they worked better with two layers of foam built up, so the block didn’t leave its own impression on the paper.  And to add interest, I used an exacto knife to score the lines and grid onto a couple of the hearts.  I put a different heart on each side of the block, which made for a few red fingers, but only required two blocks to be sacrificed rather than four.

3 Responses to “Hearts, Hearts, Everywhere!”


  1. 1 Mary February 10, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Great idea, Katie! I like the scored hearts; nice textural interest.

  2. 2 Miss Sassy February 11, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Ooh – these are so awesome. Thank you so much for the instructions and sharing!

  3. 3 Dena February 17, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    This is jdsgirl btw…

    Anyways, I really like the foam idea! I wish I’d known of this at Christmas. Would have saved me from the glitter everywhere!

    I’ve added this to our to do list!


Leave a Reply

