Happy Birthday to Me!

No, it’s not my birthday.  My birthday is actually in June, but this past weekend, my parents came by and dropped off my gift.  My dad built these cabinets to fit in my living room (a.k.a. sewing room).  Today I got them loaded up with fabrics, notions and other assorted sewing paraphernalia, which you can’t see behind the closed doors.  Thanks, dad!

I now need to find something to decorate the tops of them…I’m totally not into the “lots of little knick-knack’s around” kind of decorating.  To me, that’s more like “lots of little things to move and dust every week”.  But, this is a bit more stark and modern than my usual style.  I’m sure as I live with them for a while, I’ll find something I like.

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!”


  1. 1 Karen March 10, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    What? No picture of the goodies inside of them? I feel so cheated . . .

    🙂

    They are really nice. Why not display jars of buttons, zippers, spools, etc. on them?

  2. 2 Jaime March 10, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Those are so nice Katie, I really love them! I’m really into black furniture pieces right now! 🙂

  3. 3 dangitAnge March 10, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Oooh, sewing room storage. I’m SEW jealous.

    (sorry, that was baaad!) 😀

  4. 4 mikawendy March 10, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Those are beautiful cabinets.

    If you have a lot of sewing/craft books, you could display books on them. You could also prop up an inspiration board on them. You could also get a vine-y plant and put it along one end and let it keep growing…

  5. 5 Magik Quilter March 10, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    I love that kind of cabinet with a flatscreen on top. Lucky you as they look fantastic and hide so much.Your dad sure is talented.
    Another good look is large bowls with painted balls in them …Target in Bondi Junction [Sydney] had some great balls yesterday.

  6. 6 Mary March 13, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Katie, those are gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

