Here’s a Week’s Worth of Sewing

I’ve been busy this week sewing up some new summer clothes for the kids.  I think I’ve made good progress:

These two tops I made today, loving the round neck style.  I was glad to find perfect buttons for each one in the button box, so I didn’t have to stop and go out to the fabric store before having the satisfaction of seeing the finished project.  And about the buttons, I’m loving the buttonholer that came with my Rocketeer, now that I’ve figured out how to use it, perfect puttonholes are a snap!

And, I tried out shirring with elastic on the bobbin…once I got started it was tough to stop!  This is one of those techniques that I had put off trying for a long while, who knows why.  I am so glad I got around to it, because I just love these, and they were so easy to make!

And a modelled shot of the other shirred garments, excuse my silly kids.

Here are the t-shirts I made for summer.  Love the mock wrap style, not so sure about the other:

This dress and shorts caused me no end of frustration, the ribbing just would not cooperate for me.  But it turned out cute in the end, and it’s sure to be a favorite cute and comfy outfit this summer.

And for the boy, I made a couple of short and tees.  This shark fabric just begged to be made into a pair of surfer style shorts.

These brown shorts were made out of the leftover bit of fabric from making the brown pants I showed earlier.

And this outfit has to be my favorite one of the week!  The basic black twill shorts have triple topstitching in light blue – red – blue to match the robot print knit curved raglan top.  We had to wear it right away, and it gave me an excuse to get out the red shoes that used to belong to big sister.

And here’s a close-up of the topstitching, which totally makes the shorts:

This week’s sewing by the numbers:

  • garments sewn: 18
  • garments already appropriated and worn by the chilrden: 9
  • bobbins wound: 9  (4 with shirring elastic, wound by hand)
  • broken needles: 2
  • 1″ elastic left in my stash: about 12 inches (not enough for another waist)
  • trips to the fabric store: 0
  • curse words: only at the striped dress
21 Responses to “Here’s a Week’s Worth of Sewing”


  1. 1 Ruth April 5, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    You sewed all that in a week?! I am impressed! Everything looks great. Oh, and I really like the top that is not the mock-wrap. Well, I like the mock-wrap tops, too, but I especially like the other one.

  2. 2 Marie April 5, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Oh my. That’s a LOT of sewing! I haven’t even managed to finish the one item I started earlier this week. I love all of those, but the round neck dresses and the robot outfits are my faves I think. You must have the best dress kids in your town! 😉

    xMx

  3. 3 Muralimanohar April 6, 2008 at 2:13 am

    Wow! You have been BUSY!!! I love them! I especially love the shirred dresses, the second style of tee, and the topstitching! Awesome!

  4. 4 mermaids April 6, 2008 at 5:31 am

    whew! that is a lot of sewing!! and it is all so cute. the multicolored topstitching is great. true labor of love because i know how many times you had to rethread your machine to do that.

    teri

  5. 5 diannaleigh April 6, 2008 at 7:27 am

    It is all beautiful work!!! I love the dresses with the rounded necks. May I ask what pattern you used? Great job!

  6. 6 Julie April 6, 2008 at 9:15 am

    OMG! I’m so happy to see someone sewing clothes and you do it so very well. I say your kids are the best dressed around. I used to sew for my 2 girls and the really liked it until they turned about 12, then it was never just right. Enjoy while it lasts!

  7. 8 Elaine April 6, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Wow! I am so impressed. You’ve done a wonderful job. I remember when our girls (and my son) were small and would gladly wear things I made for them. Enjoy it while it lasts 🙂

  8. 9 sugarbug April 6, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness. You are my new hero! I wish I could sew like that. I’ve never even tried sewing knits yet. I, too, would like to know what pattern you used for the round-necked dresses-so cute!

  9. 10 Shannon April 6, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Wow! I am so impressed:) You have been one buzy bee. I love the shark fabric.

  10. 11 Joni April 6, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Congratulations on completion of that many very useable items! I think You have made me get to my studio and make something r8ight now Just to make myself appear
    some what productive…Sewing for my grandson age 5 I have finished 2 Pairs of reversible pants, 2 appliquéd (purchased) T-shirts and a headband for my baby granddaughter (18 months) No camera and I cant take them to their home until Saturday..Hope they fit. I bought a few Hawaiian shirts for him to wear as it gets warmer…but they will co ordinate with the pants If My daughter decides to cut them off for shorts in a few months. (they live in Mountains where it is still 52 degrees) thanks for giving me the idea of elastic shirring. I have sewn for years but never tried that technique what book or pattern did you use to show you how to set your machine? thanks and keep in touch, Joni in CA

  11. 12 Karen April 7, 2008 at 8:51 am

    I love seeing the stuff you make. It totally inspires me.

    I use a Singer 301 and I LOVE the buttonholer on it too. Absolutely perfect buttonholes every single time.

    Your kids look adorable in their new stuff.

  12. 13 Janey April 7, 2008 at 9:51 am

    What great outfits. You are so talented and everything just looks so fantastic. Do have any good pattern suggestions for those of us who would love to make things similar to these but are still sewing beginners?

  13. 14 Clare April 9, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Hi – I have just found your blog…and WOW.

    I love the fact that your children put easter eggs in the speaker and you only just discovered them! I am also amazed by the fact that you sewed all those clothes in a week. You children are VERY lucky.

    I am just dipping my toe in the crafting world (in fact I haven’t really started yet) but am just marvelling at all the crafty blogs out there and feeling more and more inspired each time I have a nice blog reading session.
    Take Care
    Clare x

  14. 15 susan April 9, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    You are an inspiration to a want-to-be sewer. Would you share the pattern for the round neck baby shirts? So adorable. thanks for sharing your work!

  15. 16 Mary April 9, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I can only hope to be as productive in the coming weeks. Katie, you are a sewing superstar!

  16. 17 Tiffany G April 10, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Oh my goodness, I am so super jealous, these are too cute!! I LOVE the boys shorts!!! Did you design them or use a pattern??

  17. 18 Cynthia April 10, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    FANTASIC!!! AND I THOUGHT I WAS DOING GOOD GETTING 11 PAIRS OF SHORTS DONE. I ONLY PUT POCKETS IN 2 PAIRS TO SAVE ON TIME. NOW I FEEL LIKE I CHEATED AFTER SEEING YOUR WORK. EVERYTHING LOOKS GREAT!

  18. 19 Rachel April 10, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    WOW! I’m awestruck and speechless at your talent and fabric selections! You could start your own Kids Boutique! I’d shop there 😉

  19. 20 Jeannine McCloskey April 19, 2008 at 6:16 am

    I am impressed with the amount of sewing you accomplished, and of course how pretty each and every garment turned out to be. Amazing. How do you do it? I have a 4 year old and a 1 year old, and I am lucky if I get an hour a day to myself. Why don’t you blog about your sewing habits. I am sure the would interest everyone.
    Oh, I really love your new pattern. As soon as my daughter grows out of a size 0-3mos (petit little thing), I will come knocking on your door to buy one.
    BTW, why did you buy that Singer? Is there a secret I don’t know. As you can see, I have enjoyed reading your blog. Great family pictures and stories. Thanks for sharing.
    Jeannine

  20. 21 Ronda November 24, 2008 at 9:55 am

    HI! I just found your blog. It is so inspiring and you are super talented!! I am just learning how to sew with knits. They are a bit
    mysterious to me. I have sewn with quilt fabrics forever. 🙂
    Would you mind telling me what pattern you used on the mock wrap style tee shirts. I love the look of them! When I get comfortable, I am buying that pantie pattern. So sweet!
    Thanks,
    Ronda


Leave a Reply

