I think I deserve a merit badge…

…for being a handy-woman.

Today as hubby was leaving for work he broke the door.  What I saw was hubby pick up a hammer and start to pound at the latch on the door between the laundry room and the garage.  He says he saw that it was broken, and he was trying to fix it.  Irregardless, the result was he had to go to work and leave me with the broken door. 

The problem was the latch.  The part that is supposed to pull in as you turn the handle so you can open the door no longer would pull in when the handle was turned.  So I went to the shed and got out the rubbermaid tub that contains various parts of doorknobs and locks (doesn’t everyone have a box like this?) and screwdriver in hand, set about to replace the latch part of the doorknob.  I even got my hands dirty looking for a piece just like the one that was broken, only not a broken one.  I found a likely candidate, put it in place, then replaced the handles and voila!  The door works again.  Bonus:  you no longer have to push on the door after it’s shut to make the latch catch.  That’s also one point in favor of the argument that the latch really was broken before Hubby took a hammer to it.

1 Response to “I think I deserve a merit badge…”


  1. 1 Jenny June 4, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    You totally ROCK! Will you come put Emma’s door knob on for me? We have been here almost 2 years and it isn’t on yet . . .


Leave a Reply

