Another New Style

I made this purse last week, and have been using it since then, trying to decide if I needed to make any modifications in the next one.  So far, the only thing I need to change is to make the center pocket a little shorter, as when my cell phone is all the way at the bottom, it’s a bit hard to reach when it’s ringing.

The front is accented by the pieced flap (this one is Amy Butler fabrics) which is bound in bias.  The bias binding is repeated around the edges of the bag itself. 

Inside, there are three pockets, two larger outside pockets and a smaller inside pocket.  This design keeps everything organized.  There’s plenty of room inside for what you need without being big and bulky to carry around.  Here I have wallet, cell phone, keys and GPS.  The flap closes with a magnetic snap to keep everything secure.

From the side, you can see just a peek of accent fabric.  I used nickel rectangle hardware on the strap, but future models will also have a slider to adjust the strap length.

I’ll be making a few more of these this week to stock in the Etsy shop, so keep checking back!

13 Responses to “Another New Style”


  1. 1 Amy June 25, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I think this is exceptionally cute AND handy! Just the sort of thing I’m going to need when I’m diaper bagging for two.

  2. 2 Kris C. June 25, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Very nice! I don’t even carry a purse, but I found myself staring at the pictures to try to figure out the design.

  3. 3 Muralimanohar June 25, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    I love that! Such a brilliant little bag!!

  4. 4 Ruth June 25, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    What a great purse! Compact, but room enough for the essentials!

  5. 5 Astrid June 26, 2008 at 4:34 am

    It’s beautiful! I love the three pockets, and the way you use the Amy Butler fabric. It looks extremely well made! 🙂

  6. 6 Melissa June 27, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Sooooo cute, but you’ve also been TAGGED 🙂 come to my site to see what i mean 🙂

  7. 7 upstatelisa June 29, 2008 at 7:53 am

    wow! great bag!!!! great colors!

  8. 8 Tracey July 1, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Ooh, I love that!

  9. 9 Lynn Douglass July 6, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Love it! I’m definitely going to have to check out your Etsy shop!

  10. 10 leslie July 19, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Love it! Saw it over at SM and had to come and check out the details. Must go look at etsy now…

  11. 11 Angie August 24, 2008 at 9:59 am

    I was sent a link to your new style purse, I would like to know are you going to offer a pattern for it so people like me can make them for our teen dauughters?

  12. 12 Greta November 26, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I NEED a purse like this! Will you please offer a pattern for this one?! 🙂

  13. 13 Marissa January 4, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    This purse is perfect! It’s so cute and exactly what I need! Please do post a pattern I will for sure get it!


Leave a Reply

