Try it!

I came across this recipe the other day, and had to try it.  Here’s my attempt at “chocolate cake in a mug”.


In a mug, mix 4 T. flour, 4 T. sugar and 2 T. cocoa.


Add 1 egg, 3 T. milk and 3 T. oil.  Mix well!


Microwave on high for 3 minutes.


Turn cake out of mug onto a plate.  Enjoy!

I was unsuccessful in convincing the children that I was making scrambled eggs for my breakfast (hey!  there’s a scrambled egg in there!) and they had to come over to see what I was doing.

The verdict:  Not too bad!  It definitely wouldn’t compare with an oven-baked cake, but it was quick and easy, and went well with my morning coffee.  The only clean-up is the mug, tablespoon, and wiping up the microwave where the cake dripped while cooking.  Compared to “real baking” that’s definitely a bonus!

6 Responses to “Try it!”


  1. 1 Kathleen July 11, 2008 at 11:28 am

    As soon as I saw this on your blog I had to try it. The taste was good but it seemed a bit chewy. Not in a bad way, just a different texture from regular cake. In a pinch and on a major pms day- awesome!!!

  2. 2 Krista July 11, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Yummy! I’ve had this before, but no recipe. Thanks!

  3. 3 teri July 11, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    i so have to try this. hubski is on a low carb diet so baking a whole cake is out of the question. this just might satisfy that yen for cake once in a while.

    teri

  4. 4 Gayle July 12, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I just came here from Kathleen’s blog and I have to say THANK YOU for posting this!
    I am seriously going to try it right now…

  5. 5 Gayle July 12, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Ok, I am eating it now and it is GOOD! Thanks again for posting this!

  6. 6 Melissa July 12, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    YUM! I HAVE GOTTA TRY THAT!!!


Leave a Reply

