My Voice is Echoing in my Head.

Years ago, when Hubby and I were planning a road trip during which we’d have to keep a toddler and an infant occupied in the car for hours on end, I borrowed a stack of books from the library and recorded myself reading them aloud onto a CD.  What do you know?  It worked keeping the kids occupied, despite the scratchy, less than studio-quality sound.  After the trip, the CD ended up being put away with a bunch of other CD’s we rarely listen to. 

However, my children have now grown a bit.  They can read.  They have a CD player in their room, and are allowed to choose music from the CD drawer with little supervision.  When they found the CD labelled “story time” they put it into their CD player and turned it on at bedtime.

I was in the other room when I first hear the noise, and to be honest, I couldn’t figure out what it was.  The TV was off.  I was the only other adult in the house.  Yet I heard another voice speaking?!?  I came out to the hallway where I could hear more clearly and realized they’d found the story CD, and were halfway through listening to my voice reading “make way for ducklings”.

The kids are tucked in bed now, hugs and kisses given.  This is the time of night where the house is usually eerily quiet, yet my voice echoes on.  And I think it’s kind of sweet that my girlies are drifting off to dreamland while listening to me read them stories from so long ago.

2 Responses to “My Voice is Echoing in my Head.”


  1. 1 Krista July 16, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Aw, that’s really sweet!

  2. 2 Mary July 16, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Katie, that’s such a cool thing! I bet the kids will really treasure that memory when they are older, even if they don’t remember all of the story behind the CD.


Leave a Reply

