The Start of Fall Sewing for my Boy.

During the last week, I’ve been sewing some of the items I have planned for my kids’ fall wardrobes.  I had put off so many personal sewing projects while I was working on my undies pattern, I was itching to get started.  Here is what I made for E-boy this week:

This tee was super-simple, but I love how it came out with these stripes.  The jeans have green topstitching to accent the separate curved leg panels and knee darts.

This hoodie is made from cotton/lycra french terry.  I actually made one for each of my kids, and they have been trying to find excuses to wear them even though the weather has been hot lately, so they must like them.

And another reverse applique tee, this time with a robot motif.  The colors are actually lime and chocolate, which looks great in real life, but horrible in the photo.  Can I say again how much I love this technique for little boy tees?

So, after I had made these pieces (oh, and one more striped tee that somehow didn’t get photographed) I went through E-boy’s things from last Fall and found that many of them still fit him, so with the addition of these adorable mommy-made pieces, he’s pretty much set.  Not that it will stop me from sewing for him if I want to, just I’m assured he won’t be going naked anytime soon.

9 Responses to “The Start of Fall Sewing for my Boy.”


  1. 1 Krista July 28, 2008 at 11:14 am

    And um, is there any possibility we might inherit some of these in the future? 😉 Seriously, you are amazing when it comes to sewing!

  2. 2 Sara July 28, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Wow, I find your sewing for your boy inspirational! My little boy would love that robot shirt.

  3. 3 Kris C. July 28, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Hey! Those are seriously cute! 🙂

  4. 4 Muralimanohar July 29, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Love those pants…I used to make ones like that for my ds when he was a little one, too. I miss that!!

  5. 5 caila611 July 30, 2008 at 11:37 am

    So cute! I want to start sewing some clothes for my boys but i can never find patterns that I like!

  6. 6 Jill July 30, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    So, amazing! Your prince must feel so special wearing the clothes his mommy made him!
    Any chance that you used a commercial pattern that you could share with us?
    Again, an amazing job!

  7. 7 Ruth August 4, 2008 at 7:25 am

    What pattern did you use for the pants and hoodie? Cute stuff!

    Thanks for the tutorial on the reverse applique. I just finished some jammies for my son and I wish I had seen your tutorial first. Well, I’ll definitely try it another time.

    Also, I love the wallet you sent me for your giveaway. Everybody else loves it too! You do such nice work.

    One more thing… Will you be putting more of your underwear patterns on your Etsy? I missed buying them before, and I really would like the pattern. My 3 year old daughter is getting low on panties. I’ve never sewn panties, but I’ve made diapers, so it shouldn’t be too hard, right?

    Thanks, Kat!

  8. 8 Ariel September 4, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    I love the boys clothes! where did you find the patterns or did you create them yourself?


  1. 1 Yikes! Stripes! « that*darn*kat Trackback on October 8, 2009 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

