Fall Fashion Trend: Corduroy.

This is the time of year when I feel inspired to sew for the upcoming season.  So, even though the weather has been swelteringly hot, I’ve been  sewing with corduroy.  The first project, a “round neck dress” in corduroy coordinates.  I love the colors in these fabrics, perfect on my blue-eyed-blondes.  Thanks to Mary for the inspiration to use this summery pattern for Fall sewing, it worked out perfectly! 

Actually, I have to let you know, this is the sample for the next size range of my round neck top/dress pattern.  I had so many requests to make this style available for older girls, I drafted three more sizes, which fit girls approximately size 8 to 14.  Look for it coming to my Etsy shop soon!

I also faced one of my sewing fears: the zipper fly.  I’m really proud of the way these pants turned out, even though they’re not perfect, I know what I should do differently next time.

2 Responses to “Fall Fashion Trend: Corduroy.”


  1. 1 Mary August 28, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Katie, will you come to my house and hold my hand when I attempt my first zipper fly? I’m still so intimidated and I don’t know why.

  2. 2 Angi Herbison September 11, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I just found your website and you are amazing! Do you self draft the boys clothes or do you use a pattern? If you use a pattern would you mind sharing which ones? I’m having a hard time finding patterns for boys and your clothes look so cute!


Leave a Reply

