More Fall Sewing.

I just adore these dresses I made for my girls!  The pattern is from the most recent issue of Ottobre design.

For the denim dress, I did topstitching with two threads through the needle, hot pink and red.  I love the emphasis this gives to the topstitching, and the color combo is just plain fun!  I used large pink buttons on the pockets and sewed them on with red thread. 

The corduroy dress is cute, too.  But, it taught me an important lesson.  When sewing a complicated pattern, with lots of pieces and topstitching, patterned fabric is not the best.  All the work I did sort of blends into the bold heart print.  The kids love it anyway, though, and that’s what counts.

7 Responses to “More Fall Sewing.”


  1. 1 mermaids August 19, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    that’s a lot of topstitching! but well worth the effort. cute dress!
    teri

  2. 2 365pwords August 20, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I agree with mermaids… a lot of top-stitching but worth it. For me the issue would be keeping my stitching from wandering all over the place. Two lines that undulate and bulge like a snake after dinner would ruin the effect.

  3. 3 R. Robyn August 22, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Both dresses turned out beautifully! I have yet to try the double-needle option on my sewing machine, but this may have encouraged me to do it.

  4. 4 Astrid August 23, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I really like the dresses – especially the denim one. I’m kind of hesitant to sew denim – partly because of the sturdy quality of the fabric, partly because of the topstitching. I’ll have to give it a try sooner or later. Good job! 🙂

  5. 5 Muralimanohar August 26, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Well, I’ll just sit here and be jealous of your mad topstitching skilz. I do a lot of topstitching, but it usually resembles the creation of a one-eyed, drunk monkey.

  6. 6 Melanie September 5, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Wow! Nice job, it looks great. I thought about it for my niece until I saw all the pieces… I definitely need more practice before I do that one.

  7. 7 Ruth October 20, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Did you use a double needle? Or one needle, sewing around twice?

    Great dress—I love the pink stitching—I’m getting ready to make one with white stitching.


Leave a Reply

