Sometimes I’m A Genius!

And other times I just think I am…  But, I’m sure you’ll agree that this is one of my better moments of genius. 

You probably have deduced based on my previous posts that I am a soup fanatic.  The truth is, although Hubby eats my soup without complaint, the kids just don’t enjoy it.  And having a group of grmblers at the table (namely, the children) is enough to spoil my own enjoyment of the meal.  So, since it’s just me and E-boy at home for lunch these days, I’ve been making soup for my lunch (and letting E-boy eat yogurt or PB&J). 

Today I made Creamy Chicken with Rice (and homemade corn muffins on the side), and it was totally yummy.  Here’s where the genius part comes in…I served the leftovers into these cups and put them in the freezer.  Yes, my friends, I now have single-serving homemade soup just waiting in the freezer for my lunches.  I did this the other day with my homemade chili, and it worked out awesome.  Just take out a cup, remove the lid, and microwave for a couple minutes until it’s hot.  Seriously, what better way to cheer up a dreary day than a nice hot soup lunch?

12 Responses to “Sometimes I’m A Genius!”


  1. 1 Elaine/Muddling Through November 4, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Yes, I think that would definitely qualitfy as a moment of genius. 🙂

  2. 2 Jenny November 4, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    What do you mean sometimes? You are always a genius! 🙂

  3. 3 Shannon November 5, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Only a genius could come up with this idea:) Where do you get these freezer cups?

  4. 4 muralimanohar November 6, 2008 at 3:27 am

    I’ve been doing that lately…making a big pot of soup, and then dividing the leftovers into 1 and 2 serving portions and freezing. Used to be, the last serving or two would go off, cause everybody had been souped out; but now, I just stick it in the freezer, and have an instant, easy, healthy, middle of the week meal. LOVE it!

  5. 5 Pam November 6, 2008 at 7:57 am

    what a great idea, not all my kids will eat soup, gret thinking. Hey if you like to join me over at my site, I’m doing a soup recipe exchange if you feel up to it come on over.

  6. 6 Karin November 6, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Okay, don’t laugh at me, but that really works? I am always so scared to microwave things from frozen!! It comes out okay? Do you leave it in that cup? Doesn’t the cup melt? LOL Can you tell that my freezer is empty? LOL

  7. 7 Melissa November 6, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    i agree with Jenny, you are a genius not just some of the time 🙂 Love you, and love the idea! thanks for sharin it!

  8. 8 Amanda November 7, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    That looks wonderful! Where did you find the recipe??

  9. 9 Mindy Said November 8, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Awesome idea! And the soup looks yummy. 🙂

  10. 10 Mary November 10, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Brilliant! I need to try that for Honey and me. Always looking for lunch shortcuts for us.

  11. 11 Karen November 24, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Wow, that is a stroke of genius. Nice one.

    Do you have a recipe for “white chili”? It hardly resembles chili at all except that it has beans, but they aren’t chili beans. Anyway, if you don’t you should definitely try it. Email me if you’re interested in the recipe. It’s delish.

  12. 12 Ashley Ann December 16, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Are those breast milk storage containers? 😀

    If so, LOVE it. If not, great idea anyway. I bet those babies are good for keeping the freezer burn out.


Leave a Reply

