You’re never too old to learn something new.

I’ve been eyeing this slipper patternon Etsy, and decided to finally order it.  It says the level is “easy”, never mind that I have no experience doing crochet.  I got the pattern in my e-mail and realized it may not be the best first project.  But I am undaunted.  Here’s some of my practice, but I’m not showing you all the curly thread I made from the stitches I pulled out because they just wouldn’t look like they were supposed to look.  Maybe in about five years I’ll be proficient enough to tackle the slipper pattern.  I hope.

2 Responses to “You’re never too old to learn something new.”


  1. 1 Marie November 19, 2008 at 3:59 am

    I wish my first attempts at crochet had looked that good! LOL.

    That slipper pattern looks fabulous – but I wouldn’t dare order it now, I have so many To-Make-For-Christmas projects in the WIP pile I think my DH might have an aneurism if I added any more. Plus the middle of a craftroom refit is not the best time to be picking up new things!

    I can’t wait to see what they come out like.

    xMx

  2. 2 mikawendy November 20, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    You may actually have an easier time at the slipper pattern than at that lace swatch you’re working on. It looks like the slipper pattern uses larger yarn. I’m not much good at crocheting anything other than hotpads and other flat things, and haven’t done much in a long while, but I always found it much easier to work with larger yarn than with really fine, small yarn and a small hook.


Leave a Reply

