Crochet Hat

Hooray!  I finished my first crochet project!

Actually that may be a little misleading.  I’m not counting anything I started as “practice” or the things that I started and then proceeded to pull out because I made a mistake.  I did try working the slipper pattern I purchased, but I kept getting lost with all the counting.  My friend Wendy encouraged me to just try to eyeball something and helped me get this hat started.  Whaddaya know?  I found eyeballing it much easier than trying to follow a pattern.  So thanks to Wendy, I now have a finished hat.  And by some miracle, it fits my head!

I’ve decided I like to do crochet (even though Hubby declared I look like a grandma when I’m doing it).  It’s quiet and portable.  I can do it while watching TV, riding in the car or waiting for the kids’ gymnastics class to finish.  Next up, a hat for each of the kids…maybe then I’ll tackle that slipper pattern again.

5 Responses to “Crochet Hat”


  1. 1 theriperadish November 24, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Congratulations!! Crochet is so addicting 🙂
    It looks great.

  2. 2 kathi November 24, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Don’t listen to hubby–he doesn’t know that Mischa Barton and Gwynnety Paltrow knit and crochet too.

  3. 3 ausxser November 24, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    And Stevie Nicks was a proponent of Crochet while making the tumultuous “Rumours” album 🙂

    I say knitting and crochet ROCKS!!!

  4. 4 Anjea Ray November 26, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    It looks great! I love crochet for the same reasons! 😀
    Anjea

  5. 5 Tiff@Three Peas November 26, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Great Job. Don’t you feel great finishing a project???


Leave a Reply

