Toasty Toes

Look!  I finished corcheting my slippers.  It was quite a challenge, especially for a beginner.  At several points, I sat in front of my computer using a google search to find out what the stitch should look like.  I love the colors of these; I used dark brown for the bottom sole, an oatmeal shade for the inner sole and blue for the uppers.  Having two soles makes these super cushy.  The only issue is I didn’t realize how “slipper”-y these would be on our wood floors.  Seeing as the wool socks I have are pretty slick, you would have thought I would make the connection that wool slippers wouldn’t be much different.  But despite that, I’m loving having my feet toasty warm in the slippers I made.

9 Responses to “Toasty Toes”


  1. 1 quiltingcindy December 16, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Search the internet for the type of paints that you put dots on the soles to make the like griper socks for kids. I think it is tulip paints.

  2. 2 Charli December 16, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Some of that puff paint that you can get at craft stores should take care of the slippery problem- just squiggle some on the soles, or add random dots of it all over the soles. Or maybe attach those non-slip sticker things for showers on to the bottoms. The old school flower ones would look cute! Just my two cents…

  3. 3 Kathya December 16, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    the slippers are just beautiful, by seeing the kind of work you make i would have never thought it is beginner’s work.
    did you use any specific knitting book?
    great job.!

  4. 4 Jenny December 16, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    You did it! Congratulations! They look wonderful!

  5. 5 Jenny December 16, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Oh, by the way, I wouldn’t advise using “shower stickies” on your slippers ~ they will scratch your wood floors. 🙂

  6. 6 Marie December 17, 2008 at 4:51 am

    They look fab! And definitely “toastie”. Well done for finishing them.

    xMx

  7. 8 Wendy December 17, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Very pretty! Good for you, sticking through it 🙂

  8. 9 Katie December 29, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I love your slippers. Where can I find the pattern?


Leave a Reply

