Sewing With A Plan: The Plan

The plan is the first step in sewing with a plan, obviously.  For my plan, I sketched out each piece in sharpie, my favorite medium.  Despite the marker being permanent, the plan is not.  In fact, I’ve already made some changes, subbing fabrics here and there, or changing a detail to make the item work better.  Some of the items will be sewn straight from patterns, but most will be modified one way or another to meet my vision.  While looking for patterns, I found that I may have planned my SWAP backwards, first envisioning what I wanted for my wardrobe, then looking for how to create it, rather than choosing pieces from readily available patterns, as I was unable to find patterns for the exact items I wanted to sew.  That being said, here is my original plan:

After the plan was drawn up, it was time to find the fabrics.  Some of the fabrics were in my stash, others I ordered up from fabric.com.  Still others have been purchased since then, but this is my initial pile of fabrics for SWAP:

This has been a fun experience so far.  As a stay at home mom to three kids, I don’t need a fancy wardrobe.  I’ve been a “jeans and a tee shirt” girl for a long time.  But I feel like it’s time to put some more thought into my own clothing.  And as I’ve been wearing the pieces I’ve completed, I feel good in them.

1 Response to “Sewing With A Plan: The Plan”


  1. 1 Krista May 23, 2009 at 10:09 am

    So, um please disregard the “name” I used on that last post comment. That’s my pseudonym for a Friday night “bloghoppers” thing that I sometimes do. It auto filled the spaces for me and I didn’t pay attention to what it said until after I pushed submit… 🙂


Leave a Reply

