Camping at the Lake

Can I tell you how long it took me to get a slide show to work on my blog?  Yeah, crazy long.  For some reason, WordPress does not support slide shows made by Photobucket or Flickr (the two photo hosting sites I use).  I really don’t understand the reasons very well, but I finally caved and used one of the applications WordPress recommends to build my slide show.  The other slide shows I made were prettier, only I couldn’t embed them into my post.

We spent the weekend camping on the lake.  We like to go to a Forest Service campground that is accessible only by boat, and we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves the only campers in the place.  The amenities at our favorite site include a really nice dock, a two-wall shelter with a stone fireplace, several tent sites and an outhouse (which is nice as far as outhouses go…I didn’t take a picture of it, though, so you’ll have to take my word for it).  There’s a lovely little creek right next to the campsite where the kids had fun playing, splashing and racing little pieces of driftwood. 

We had our share of wildlife sightings when we were camping.  The highlights were the snakes, both poisonous and non-poisonous varieties.  I’m not a big fan of snakes, so the kids and I were stomping our feet and chanting, “Go away snakes!  If you don’t bother us we won’t bother you!” as we walked along any of the paths.  We also saw several big horn sheep up on the hillsides, and were able to test the capabilities of the zoom lens on the new camera by taking pictures of them.  There were also little lizards and tons of butterflies around.  I tried to get a picture of some of the butterflies, but they kept flying off before I could snap.

The weather was perfect over the weekend; the sky was clear blue and the lake was calm.  With temperatures in the nineties, we enjoyed jumping into the cold water of the lake to cool off.  E-boy’s favorite camping activity comtinues to be throwing rocks in the water, but he really enjoyed the driftwood races in the creek as well.  A. found a piece of rope near the creek and tied a piece of wood to each end, making a little fishing pole kind of toy.  E. preferred blowing bubbles and searching for pretty rocks along the shore.  Mama unwound by sitting in the shade of the creek reading a book, or working on her knitting.

1 Response to “Camping at the Lake”


  1. 1 Krista June 3, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Wow, that is a seriously cool camping shelter! Nice spot!


Leave a Reply

