SWAP Sewing: Green Gingham Blouse

Here is one of the first items I made for my Sewing With A Plan, the green gingham blouse.  I actually finished this one a few weeks ago, and wore it right away when it was finished, which is a sure sign that it’s a winner.

The fabric is a nice 95/5 cotton/lycra shirting.  It has a nice heavy drape, and plenty of stretch for comfort.  I didn’t really use a pattern, just a front/back/sleeve from a vintage shirt pattern I had handy.  I cheated and sewed the tucks and placket before I cut the shirt front because I didn’t want to think about how much to add to the width of the pattern piece for the tucks. 

I really love the details on this shirt.  I cut the placket, cuffs and collar on the bias.  I used turquoise buttons, and sewed them on with orange thread.  Hubby really thought I’d lost my mind when I told him that was my plan, but I love the way it looks.  I’m super proud of the collar and collar stand, too.  I used a piece of blue gingham ribbon as a tag at the center back of the neck.

I went back and forth about the sleeves on this shirt, but ended up deciding on a traditional cuff, accented with two buttons.

1 Response to “SWAP Sewing: Green Gingham Blouse”


  1. 1 laura June 5, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I love gingham! You did a great job and the buttons are perfect. Hans is my fashion/color police and he would have been shocked at that combination! But at least if it hadn’t worked you could’ve easily changed it. I don’t think it’s cheating, I would say it was very smart to add the tucks first. It only makes sense.


Leave a Reply

