SWAP Sewing: Floral Peasant Top

I promise, this is one of those tops that looks so much cuter on a person than it does on a hanger.  Really.  Maybe some day I’ll get Hubby to snap a modeled picture so I can prove it to you.

I used this tutorialto make the pattern for this top.  I did change the back neckline to sit a bit higher than the front neckline, though, which necesitated changing the sleeve piece as well.  After I made a tester top, I felt like that was an important change, and I’m happy that I did it.  I used elastic shirring at the neck, arms and waist.  I really love the fabric I used for this top, it’s by Robert Kaufman, part of his “London Calling” collection.  It’s a lawn, lightweight without being sheer, with a lovely soft drape.

1 Response to “SWAP Sewing: Floral Peasant Top”


  1. 1 Yana June 6, 2009 at 3:19 am

    the top looks lovely and the fabric is beautiful. thanks for the link to the tutorial, I think I will be making the top sometime 🙂


Leave a Reply

