SWAP Sewing: Ruffle Front Tank

The lettuce edges on this top seemed like they went on forever!  But, I think it was worth the extra effort.  The fabric on this one is a rayon/lycra jersey that had been waiting for just the right project.

To make the ruffles along the front, I split the pattern piece and cut the front in 6 panels.  Then, I lettuced the edges of each panel, and stitched them wrong-sides-together.  The neck and are trimmed with a lettuce edged binding, and the hem is done with – you guessed it – more lettuce edging.

My confession:  I didn’t count on the ruffles being turned backwards in the end, and out of habit sewed the pieces with right sides together.  So, I ended up with the jersey inside out.  Now you know.

1 Response to “SWAP Sewing: Ruffle Front Tank”


  1. 1 Jess June 13, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    You are beyond amazing! I love this top and the one right before it! I can’t wait to see the rest of your SWAP pieces. bowing bowing bowing


Leave a Reply

