SWAP Sewing: Shirred Waist Skirt

This is one of my SWAP items that didn’t turn out quite like I planned.  I had this idea to make a garment that could be worn as a dress or a skirt, with a “waistband” that could be worn around the bust.  You can see in my sketch that it has ties that fasten the center front, or could be tied halter-style.  The idea was great (and still is, someday I may resurrect it), however the execution was flawed.  I cut the pieces how I imagined they needed to be, with the skirt on the bias for added interest.  I put the waistband on, tried it….and it wasn’t good.  I took it apart and tried again….still not quite there.  And I gave up, cut off the top, did some rolled hems and added rows of shirring to make a simple skirt.  I do like the skirt, and have worn it a couple times.  But I’ll always know it didn’t turn out how it was supposed to turn out.

0 Responses to “SWAP Sewing: Shirred Waist Skirt”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

