SWAP Sewing: Striped Sleeveless Blouse

Of all the pieces in my swap, I am super proud of this one.  I had a lot of shirting left from making the skirt, and was on a roll with the sewing, so I decided to use the rest of it to make a blouse.  Sleeveless blouses use surprisingly little fabric.  I incorporated the green gingham from my tunic in the facings.  The front patch pockets are cut on the bias.  As I neared completion, I dug into the button box and came out with nine (count ’em) matching blue buttons.  Luck was on my side.  Considering my aversion to matchiness (seriously, I don’t think that’s a real word, but I’m using it anyway) I chose to sew the buttons on with lime green thread.  I think it really adds to the couture style of the blouse.

2 Responses to “SWAP Sewing: Striped Sleeveless Blouse”


  1. 1 mermaids June 17, 2009 at 4:27 am

    i like the lime green gingham peeking out

  2. 2 Susan December 4, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    That is a beautiful blouse. You should be very proud. Well done!


Leave a Reply

