The Official Summer Wrap-Up Post.

This weekend, the weather has taken a turn for the worse.  Yesterday, the kids and I headed for the waterslide park for our last trip of the season, and ended up swimming in the rain.  We had fun, though.  We soaked in the hot tub for a while, then headed home early.  Reality set in that summer is at its end.

School started last week.  When I was a kid, I remember always going back to school after Labor Day.  Around here, the kids start the Wednesday before Labor Day.  It kind of crept up on us.  We did the back-to-school shopping, and stocked the girls’ backpacks with folders and pencils, then sent them off on the bus.  The kids were more than ready to return to school, to see their old friends and play on the new playground equipment that was built at their school over the summer.

But before we get to all of that…we did have a lot of fun this summer that I haven’t shared.  A. turned 9, and had a sleepover birthday party with a few of her friends.  Not a lot of sleeping happened, but the kids had fun.

Hubby played softball again this year, so we spent a fair amount of time hanging out at the ball park.  Luckily, the ball park has a playground and a swimming area.  The best part (at least according to my kids) was the concession stand, which sold Laffy Taffy three for twenty-five cents.

Here are the girls helping me make cookies.  Yum!

Here’s E-Boy, flying in the air while mommy tries to figure out her new camera.  He’s quite a daredevil, don’t know where he gets that (cough…daddy…cough).  I promise Daddy didn’t drop him, and E-Boy loved it.  The camera thing is still a work-in-progress, obviously.

Another proof that it’s Fall: football season is here.  Hubby took me for a date to one of the pre-season games.  We enjoyed a night out on the town while the kids spent the day and night with their favorite babysitter.

3 Responses to “The Official Summer Wrap-Up Post.”


  1. 1 weedwacker September 6, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    My goodness…how did you get that baby to fly! Dad looks like he isn’t even going to try to catch him LOL! I suspect a little Photoshop. Love the pictures! What kind of camera did you use? I just got a new camera too.

  2. 3 laura September 7, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    It seems like yesterday I was getting my kids ready for back to school and now my youngest just turned 21! Personally, I think school should still start after Labor Day and I don’t understand why it changed. Your pictures, with the exception of the flying child (what a picture!) bring back a lot of memories. How did time get away from me?


Leave a Reply

