Date Night

We live in a small town.  Okay, it’s not teeny-tiny, but it’s small.  The restaurant choices are limited, as are the options for entertainment.  For us, date night consisted of driving through the local burger joint on our way to watch a junior league hockey game.  Hey, at least I didn’t need to get all dressed up fancy, right?

It was an exciting game against our division rivals.  The game was tied up going into overtime, and our team ended up winning in a shootout.  My voice is still hoarse from cheering on the team.  I brought along the camera and took about 150 pictures trying to figure out how to shoot fast-moving hockey players through the glass.  Here are some of the highlights of the game.

Yes, I said the teams were rivals, it wasn’t long before a fight broke out.  I think this is Hubby’s favorite part of the hockey games.  I think both the players involved were ejected from the game after this fight.

Here’s a nice shot of the other team attacking our goal.  Unfortunately, they made the shot.  Fortunately, we won anyway.

And, the winning goal in the shootout.  Thanks to Hubby for these perfectly timed shots.  Can you see the puck in the back of the net in the second one?  Cool, huh?

3 Responses to “Date Night”


  1. 1 Etta September 17, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Why are hockey players so angry??

  2. 2 Toni September 18, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Hi! This isn’t really a comment about your hockey game, but I stumbled upon your blog after completing your wallet tuturial that I found on another site. I love the “collection” that you did for your SWAP! I love all of your projects. I sat down yesterday and read your entire blog. I am learning to sew after quilting for a couple of years and I just wanted to know how you learned to sew. You are just so talented and I’d really like to think that maybe one day I could be that good. Thanks for sharing all you do with us!

  3. 3 Helen Mills October 10, 2009 at 5:11 am

    This sounds like a great date night!


Leave a Reply

