More Sewing: Pants for my Boy

I’ll admit, I finished sewing these pants weeks ago.  I took pictures of them meaning to make a blog post about them, but didn’t get around to it right away.  So, even though these are old news, they’re too cute not to share.

These are the “pluto pants” from the winter 2008 issue of Ottobre magazine.  I used olive ripstop fabric from Jo-Ann’s and did contrasting topstitching in light blue thread. 

This pattern went together so well, I’ll definitely make it again.  All the little details – knee pleats, panel seams, cargo pockets – make these pants special.  E-boy much prefers pull-on pants, and I love the sporty look these have.  They are plenty baggy to wear over long johns if the weather is chilly, too.

5 Responses to “More Sewing: Pants for my Boy”


  1. 1 Vicki January 2, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    What a lot of work! They look great!

  2. 2 gail January 2, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    those are absolutely darling! my son is disabled and we like to have him wear elastic waist pants but so many don’t have any personality. i may have to hunt down this mag!

  3. 3 Anna January 2, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    so cute pants! I love pull on pants and so do my girls! They’d be cute for a girl too.

  4. 4 Chris Lawlor January 2, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    You are too awesome with all of the neat stuff you make for your child…

  5. 5 Chris Lawlor January 2, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    children… I meant to say!


Leave a Reply

