Freezer Paper Love

My girls are going to be part of a local relay race this weekend.  The race has four parts: running, kayaking, biking, and a two person obstacle course.  They organized a team with three friends, and I had all five girls over at the house on Friday to make team tee shirts.  My dilemma was how to create a tee shirt craft for five girls, ages 7 through 10, that would result in nearly identical, great-looking shirts.  Freezer paper stenciling was an ideal choice.  I designed a little logo with their team name “the best girls team ever” and some icons to represent the different parts of the race.  Then I printed it out and layered it over five pieces of freezer paper before cutting out the pieces with an X-acto knife.  This was definitely a grown-up task, as our logo was fairly complicated.  It took me most of an hour to cut out the design, and many times during the process I was grateful that I could cut all the stencils at once, rather than repeating the process five times over.  I then ironed the stencils onto the backs of each shirt.  The girls’ part was to paint the stencil.  After the paint was dry (I couldn’t wait so I used a hair dryer to help speed the process along) we peeled off the paper, revealing the finished design.  We personalized each shirt with the girl’s name and the icon for their part of the race on the front left chest.

5 Responses to “Freezer Paper Love”


  1. 1 Tricia May 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Neat-O!! Love how it turned out! I’ve always wanted to try something like this… all I need to do is find some freezer paper, I’ve never bought that before. 🙂 Hope the girls enjoy the relay and the weather is beautiful!

  2. 2 Sarah May 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Those came out great! I’ve reused my freezer stencils, although I’m sure all 5 girls wanted to paint at the same time 😀

    What a great project- points for you. Hope they have fun!

  3. 3 Sandy May 20, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Yahooooooooooo terrific job by the girls and you too. Hope they have fun and win.

  4. 4 Leah May 20, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Great idea. They look wonderful!

  5. 5 Krista May 22, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Wow, Katie, those look great! Good luck to them today!


Leave a Reply

