How About a Fish Story?

Today was opening day for Salmon fishing in the Columbia River, so Hubby and a neighbor made plans to go out and do some fishing.  They left home at 3:00 am.  Around 11:00, Hubby called me on the phone to let me know they were on their way home.  When he told me he’d caught an 19 pound King Salmon that measured 36 inches long, I didn’t quite believe him.  Turns out, it was the truth.

Hubby cleaned the fish and cut it into steaks.  We froze enough for four more dinners, and grilled some up tonight.

It was delicious!  The salmon on the left was marinated with an orange-honey glaze, the other was marinated with lemon pepper.  I baked some french bread to go with it, and sauteed some of the veggies from our CSA box.  Talk about eating fresh, that salmon went from swimming in the river this morning to our dinner table tonight.

7 Responses to “How About a Fish Story?”


  1. 1 Melissa K July 2, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    WOW!!! Very nice! I’m quite impressed 🙂 I wish Matt fished 🙂 Looks like a very delicious meal, and I’m jealous 🙂

    Mel and Fam 🙂

  2. 2 Jodie July 2, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Yum! That looks delicious!

  3. 3 Leslie July 3, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    That is a great catch! I’m a little jealous, I must admit! We don’t have salmon anywhere near us! My hubs catches plenty of Mahi…but Salmon, that would be awesome!

  4. 4 Dawn July 8, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I kept this up on the pc to show my hubby.

    He’s a trout fisherman. We don’t have salmon around us in MN, but we would both LOVE to go catch us some salmon! You’re lucky to live where you do!

  5. 5 Joyce Barham July 15, 2009 at 7:40 am

    Beautiful salmon! I can smell it cooking and almost taste it, too.

  6. 6 Belinda August 10, 2009 at 10:03 am

    The salmon looks yummy! I just wanted to thank you for the quilted wallet tutorial. Your directions are easy to follow. I now have two cute wallets to go with different purses. I have some family members who would like these…I’m thinking gifts! Thanks again!


  1. 1 Hello, Dinner! « that*darn*kat Trackback on July 9, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Leave a comment




Flickr Photos